ABCMI’s First AGM a Success

AGM-2015-660x330On November 16, 2015, the First Annual General Meeting of the Association of British Columbia Marine Industries held in Vancouver, BC. The turnout was impressive: the event was attended by more than 50 individuals from industry, government and the education sector. They came to learn about the ABCMI – where we started, what our objectives are, and where we’d like to go – and to share with us their visions of our future as an organization.

In the morning, members and other attendees had the opportunity to get to know one another over coffee. A slideshow presentation followed, outlining the ABCMI’s origins, aspirations, activities to date, and benefits of membership (click here to see slides).

We then heard presentations from a number of our members regarding their organizations:

  • Fiona Chan & Louise Fogarty – Business Development Bank of Canada
  • Vincent Portal – Ministry of Advanced Education, Colleges & Skills Development Branch
  • Rob O’Brien & Kelly Best – Ministry of International Trade

We’d like to extend our thanks to them, as well as to our Keynote Speaker, Malcolm Barker (former Vice President and General Manager of Victoria Shipyards & Director, ABCMI). Malcolm’s presentation on “Recent Developments in Shipbuilding and Ship Repair Industry in BC” was a valuable source of current information on our industry.

After a delicious lunch sponsored by BC Ferries, the AGM was officially brought to order.

Following a review of the agenda and of ABMCI election procedures, President Mark Dixon made his report regarding the current status of the membership drive, ABCMI priorities, and proposed events for our first year as an Association (click here to see slides). Treasurer Derek Davis then gave us an overview of the Associations’s financial picture.

During the afternoon AGM, the membership voted in their new Board of Directors:

ABCMI Board 2015 – 2016


President: Mark Dixon (President, Babcock Canada Inc.)

Vice President: Mark Collins (Vice-President, Strategic Planning and Community Engagement, BC Ferries)

Treasurer: Derek Davis (President, Derek Davis Consulting Inc.)

Secretary: Alex Rueben (Executive Director, Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre)


Tim Page (Vice President, Government Relations, Seaspan Shipyards)

Maartin Post (Managing Director, Imtech)

Dan McGreer (Principal Naval Architect, Vard Marine Inc.)

Darren Larkins (CEO, SSI)

Congratulations to our new Board, and many thanks to all who gave their time to organize, present at, or attend our Fall Meeting and Annual General Meeting.


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 KLEO Template a premium and multipurpose theme from Seventh Queen

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?